more on Good vs Evil Versus Good vs Bad PART 3/3

tick of approvalI always watch for the Dove Foundation’s seal of approval, http://www.dove.org. A few I’ve enjoyed recently were ‘The Ultimate Gift’ and ‘Amazing Grace’. The last dove movie I saw at the theater was ‘National Treasure:Book of Secrets’. It was great and I recommend it!” – Jennifer. Sweetie, I’ve never heard of dove.org!? Maybe because I’m an Aussie….in Australia. I’ll be sure to check it out though. But letting any organisation (or anyone) prescribe you a selection of morally appropriate films and therefore guiding your every silver screen “choice” seems too binding. God gave you a mind, you can investigate for yourself. (Possibly too harsh – but I don’t want to apply too much self-censorship here). I do have to agree that Michael Apted’s Amazing Grace is a good film – great ingredients and great method (it would seem I like this metaphor). But National Treasure 2…come on! The script was woeful, Nicolas Cage deserves the sack, filled with an endless barrage of American patriotism and sentimentality and self-“dignification”. The only redemptive element was the lovely Helen Mirren.

Bethany commented “I’ve started using PluggedIn alot more lately…as I’ve read more reviews in the last few months I realized how little I usually analyze what I watch…PluggedIn has got me thinking more objectively and looking deeper into what my eyes see and my ears hear.” Well, if plugged in helped Bethany think more critically and analytically than she did before that is a great to hear… and it can’t be as bad as I like to go on about. The only thing I will mention is I find it hard to see how plugged in helped her think more objectively. Though it does help you disassociate what you feel (emotions films can bring up) and what you know (as a Christian what is morally right and wrong).

A friend of mine has just started a blog on movie reviews, she’ll take a Christian and a knowledgeable movie understanding and gives pointers on who she would see each film with. I find it actually more helpful for me than Plugged in, which I think sometimes borders on the extreme.

She blogs at http://www.goldstars.wordpress.com” – Bec. At last some good ol’ common sense! – far from it. Thanks Bec!

shoot em upI think “Rambo” would be a good date movie. It has a pretty clever plot mixed in with some wholesome action.” – Adam D. Wide eyed stunned silence, anyone else hear alarm bells?

Jorden: “I tend to use pluggedin to make sure nothings too objectionable before I go see a movie. But …Sometimes it’s too easy to sit back and just enjoy what your watching, and forget to analyze the movie.” Jorden! Welcome to the world of a film reviewer/student! (I haven’t been able to “just enjoy” a movie in about 4 years.) Enjoyment is a key element of cinema (that’s why the film industry is such a profitable one) but it should be only one reason of many to watch films. Sometimes film should be seen not because they are particularly ‘enjoyable’ for the audience but because they are informative, eye opening, challenging, inspiring, technically brilliant, masterfully acted etc etc. If I only ever watched films that are enjoyable I would have missed out on some of the greatest films (in my opinion – more on my favourites in another post). Even though I feel film is a big part of my future I couldn’t justify watching as many films as I do if I was just watching them for enjoyment. I’m sure God might find better things for me to do.
That being said, my mum only likes watching films that will be enjoyable – meaning average ingredients and even more average method (he he, she doesn’t read gold stars so I can have a sly dig).

Thanks for reading my ranting! And as always, please leave your comments, I reckon we’re all keen to hear your views too…

3 Responses

  1. It looks like dove.org reviews films as to their suitability for family viewing, which is a fantastic thing. But I wouldn’t use those reviews to decide which films were suitable for *me* as an individual to watch. There are a lot of films that are informative/challenging/inspiring/etc that I would not show to a child, but would certainly see myself.

  2. I totally agree Jo. Its totally appropriate, and wise, for parents (and family) to check films before subjecting them to the young and impressionable minds of children.
    As a child (I’ll admit, sometimes even now) films often scared me and I wished I had never seen them at the age I did. And they weren’t even really bad – I think the worst was Hook (with Robin Williams and Dustin Hoffman) when I was ten. – I still can’t look at Dustin Hoffman in that Hook get up!!!

  3. I do read your blog ( is that what you call it ?) … a bit … and I sometimes have trouble seeing past the spelling and punctuation errors. I think everything you say about me has an element of truth. How come you’ve got time to write all of that stuff and not tidy up your bedroom? As for how parents should behave re: films and young impressionable minds – if your child is going to watch a movie, watch it with them and then talk about it together. If they are the type to suffer from nightmares then help them have the courage to say, “I won’t watch that, because it scares me.” It’s better than both of you suffering from many sleepless nights! Now the question is – do I have the courage of my daughter and actually submit this comment – ah what the heck … why not?

Leave a Reply

